“Idol Worship in the West”(rough draft tract for Japan)

Idol worship in the west
Anything in your life that commands more loyalty, dedication and devotion than the One true Living God.
1. Professional Sports
2. Collegiate Sports (compare salary of coaches vs dean of school)
3. Fame and celebrity (With Jesus it’s become less so others may become more)
4. The Automobile (America’s love affair with the automobile-a symbol of money, sex and power)
5. Guns
6. Money, riches, wealth
(“You cannot serve God & money.” Matt 6:24)
7. National Security (The new name of the old idol of Nationalism seen especially in times of clear threat and crisis)
Testing for Idol worship
1. The test of time and attention
2. The test of the willingness to question and evaluate (have you crossed the line between interest and worship?)
3.The test of public signs of devotion (behavior, clothing, emblems. What loyalties have you publically advertised?)
4.The test of comparing devotion to other loyalties (shows proof of polytheism)
5. The test of ethical affects
(2 Corinthians 13:5 Examine yourselves to see if you are living in the faith)

Other idols include: Pets, ambition, computers/games/software, financial security, rock stars/athletes/media celebrities, church activities, TV/movies/music/other media, physical fitness, appearance/image, power/control, ,popularity/opinion of others, pills, health, beauty/figure/physique, clothing, jewelry, tools, books, food, individualism or individual rights, church buildings, fun/pleasure, family “Life, liberty and the pursue of happiness”, the flag, the military,

Isaiah 42:8 “I am the Lord, that is My name; I will not give My glory to another, nor My praise to graven images.”
Psalm 81:9 “Let there be no strange god among you; nor shall you worship any foreign god.”
Exodus 20:3-5 “You shall have no other gods before Me. You shall not make for yourself an idol…you shall not worship them or serve them…”
Matthew 22:37 “And He said to him,’ you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.’”
Suggested Prayers
Lord Jesus, I confess that I am a sinner and need You as my Lord and Savior, I ask for forgiveness of my sin as I turn away from them now. I am trusting You alone for my salvation. I believe You suffered and died on the cross and rose from the grave to pay the FULL price of my sin. I receive You as my Lord and Savior. Thank You for the new life I now have in Christ.
Lord Jesus Dear Lord God, I know how easy it is to allow other things and other people to become more important to me than You. I also know that this is terribly offensive to Your holy eyes as You have commanded that I shall have no other gods before YOU I confess to You that I have not loved You with all my heart and soul and mind. Please reveal to my mind now any and all idols in my life. I want to renounce each of them and in so doing, cancel out any and all ground satan may have gained in my life through my idolatry. In the name of Jesus, the true God, amen.
In the name of the true and living God, Jesus Christ. I renounce my worship of the false god of (name the idol). I choose to worship only YOU, Lord. I ask You Father, to enable me to keep this area of (name the idol) in its proper place in my life.

Leave a comment